Interview time: Rachael Wade

Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon.

Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage.

When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor.

But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first

First of all I wanted to thank Rachael for being so kind and agreeing to do this interview for me. You’re a star, Rachael! 🙂

  • 1. Where do you get your inspiration from? Do ideas just pop out in your head or do you have some sort of special ritual?

Inspiration strikes at odd times, sometimes when I’m taking a walk, watching a film, or reading. I’m am avid music and movie fan, so I’m very inspired by epic films and music scores. Tim Burton is one of my biggest influences, as well as musician Brandi Carlile.

  • 2. If you weren’t a writer, what else would you be?
 I’d be working with animals. Before I became a writer, I worked at Sea World for the Education and Conservation Department, doing public speaking presentations at the animal exhibits. I also interned for two years at Shamu Stadium where I helped with killer whale research, and volunteered for two years at Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute, helping with marine mammal necropsies and dolphin field research.
  •  3. Describe your latest book, Preservation, in three words.
 Introspective, personal (I drew from many real-life experiences), and honest.
  •  4. If you could swap lives with any fictional character for just one day, who would you choose?
Oh, this is such a tough question. There are too many! I’d say Katy from Jennifer Armentrout’s Lux series or Ana Steele from the Fifty Shades Trilogy. I love Daemon and Christian and wouldn’t mind being in their world for a day.
  •  5. If Preservation would be made into a movie, who would you see playing Kate and Ryan?
 Another tough one! I see Ryan being a cross between Paul Walker and Ryan Gosling, and Katie Holmes as Kate–she’s elegant and sophisticated, yet has that girl-next door look.
Kate Holmes as Katy Parker
Paul Walker as Ryan
Ryan Gosling as Ryan
  •  6. What is your favourite book?
 One of my all-time favorites is No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy.
  •  7. Any other hobbies apart from writing?
 Reading, going to concerts, and being outdoors. I love watching indie films and discovering new movies.
  •  8. How do you see yourself in ten years from now?
 Hopefully alive and healthy. 🙂 I hope to be living in a cozy home on Orcas Island, where I can write, be around nature, and be more personally involved in the environmental charities and issues I care about.
  •  9. What’s your favourite quote from Preservation?
 Hhhmmm, favorite quote. I’d have to say what Kate says during a scene with Nanette: When you want to learn, sometimes you have to take risks. Someone might laugh at you; your feelings might get hurt. But then you’ll feel good because you were brave enough to try. Whether you pronounce the words right is not what will matter—not right now. What will matter is that you tried.”
  •  10. Any message for your romanian readers? 🙂
 Yes! I love hearing from Romanian readers interested in my work. Your country sounds so beautiful and I would love to visit some day. Right now, my books are not published in your language, but I would love to see that happen soon. If you’re interested in reading them in Romanian and seeing them in stores near you, the more interest that is generated in your country, the better the chance it will happen. The best way to do this is to spread the word about my books and leave reviews on places like Amazon, Goodreads, or BookDepository.com. Thank you for your interest. From the bottom of my heart, it’s an absolute honor to write for you.
***
P.S : Am decis sa las interviurile in engleza. E okay? Daca nu, va rog sa-mi spune-ti si postez traducerea.
Lasă un răspuns

Cafebiblioart

Surviving adulthood one day at a time

Just Books For You

Book is just a free soul

My Mother's Work

Lucruri manuale croșetate din suflet.

Things and Books

Cartile sunt cheia catre fericire

Belle Whittington

Author of Young Adult Sci-Fi Paranormal Novels

Lizzy's Obsessive World...!

Only Romantic and Fantastic Stories! ~Just For You~

Damon's Reading Club

Your favorite characters and your favorite books

THE BLOG HAS MOVED

New link is: vanillamoonblog.com

My Weekly Book

"Sometimes, I love books more than I love people..."

flyintheworld*-* in your world

Sentimente,gînduri și idei.

bianca2b

Jurnalul unei violoniste indragostita de carti

cuddleweather

"These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: "You are not alone".

Cuddly Books

“Find what you love and let it kill you” - Charles Bukowski

Step into a fantasy world

Cărţile sunt felul oamenilor de a avea aripi ca îngerii.

Niahara's World of Books

“I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.”

Book Buzz

Despre cărţi, filme şi nu numai!

Lost in a bookshelf

My place to get lost and dream of my own little world

